How to use and share your Bitmoji Classroom 3/6

If you read my last blog posts in this series you have already learned how set up and design your Bitmoji Virtual Classroom and add in your custom Bitmoji. This post is the 3rd in my Bitmoji Virtual Classroom series and is all about using and sharing your virtual Bitmoji classroom with your students and families. classroom. If you are already familiar with how to do this you may want to move on to the next post in this series. I have them all posted and linked at the bottom of this page.

Remember that most of what I know and am sharing about Bitmoji classrooms came from generous and talented educators on the Bitmoji Craze for Educators Page on Facebook. Be sure to join and see the amazing content being shared there!


Okay so my classroom looks great but how do I get it to my students? Well, that will depend on a variety of considerations and what you want others to be able to do with your slides:


Share Presentation

Saving and sending as a PDF or JPEG/PNG: This is quick and has its uses. If you save as a PDF all of your links will still work when the document is opened up. You will have to update the PDF and shared links every time you make a change. If you save as a JPEG or PNG it will only be a picture of your classroom.

View: anybody will see the presentation in Google Slides but will not be able to make changes unless they click -> file -> make a copy. Then they will have their own copy of the document. All changes you make in your slides will change automatically with the URL, but after they make a copy, they will no longer get the updates to the original in their copy.

  • Forced Copy: Change the last part of the share URL from /edit?usp=sharing to this /copy this will force anybody you send the link to to have to make a copy of the document to view it. You don't have to guide them through the file and make a copy process mentioned above. The copy they receive will not have any live updates.

Comment: Share with the ability to add comments, cannot make changes, not ideal for this.


Edit: Anybody you send the link to can make changes to your original. REALLY NOT Ideal for this.


Changing to Restricted Access: If this is selected instead of "everybody with the link can view" you will be sent an email to confirm and grant the view access. This has its uses, but it is not very fun for you to deal with. After a copy is made they will not have any of your live updates.


Preview: This is like view but you have to edit the URL slightly. Get the view share URL and change the share URL from /edit?usp=sharing to this /preview. This will make the document open up in a black window without all of the google slides features. In this mode all changes you make to your slide or presentation will automatically be changed with everybody the URL is shared with, you do not have to resend anything.

  • Preview without the slides menu bar, get the share URL and change the URL from /edit?usp=sharing to this /preview?rm=minimal . In this mode all changes you make to your slide or presentation will automatically be changed with everybody the URL is shared with, you do not have to resend anything. THIS IS THE METHOD I RECOMMEND FOR SHARING IF YOU DO NOT WANT TO MAKE YOUR CLASSROOM INTO A PUBLIC WEBSITE (see post #5 in the series)!

  • Pro Tip: If you hide/skip the extra slides your presentation and you do not want others to see, they will not be easily accessible in this share method.

Bitmoji Virtual Classroom Blog Series

  1. Designing a virtual Bitmoji Classroom Space - Getting Started

  2. Customizing and adding your Bitmoji to your Virtual Classroom

  3. Current post -How to use and share your Bitmoji Classroom

  4. Next Post - Adding Multiple Rooms to your Virtual Bitmoji Classroom

  5. Making your Bitmoji Virtual Classroom into a "Website"

  6. Embedding your Bitmoji Virtual Classroom into your LMS

Let me know what you think.

Feedback and new ideas always welcome!

© 2020 Mrs. Watson Education. Proudly created with Wix.com

Privacy Policy - Disclaimers - Affiliate Disclosure - Terms and Conditions